

## **MEETING OF THE I-81 ADVISORY COMMITTEE**

July 14, 2025 3:00 P.M.

Blue Ridge Community College Robert E. Plecker Workforce Center One College Lane Weyers Cave, Virginia 24486

- 1. Call to Order
  - Senator Mark Obenshain, Chair of the Committee
- 2. Discussion and approval of minutes from December 13, 2024
  - Senator Mark Obenshain, Chair of the Committee
- 3. I-81 Corridor Improvement Program Update
  - Bart Thrasher, Chief Engineer, Virginia Department of Transportation
- 4. I-81 Multimodal Improvements Update
  - Virginia Breeze
    Zach Trogdon, Chief of Public Transportation, Department of Rail and Public Transportation
  - New River Valley Passenger Extension
    DJ Stadtler, Executive Director, Virginia Passenger Rail Authority
- 5. I-81 Corridor Finance Update
  - Laura Farmer, Chief Financial Officer, Virginia Department of Transportation
- 6. I-81 Corridor Improvement Plan Update
  - Ben Mannell, Director, Transportation and Mobility Planning Division, Virginia Department of Transportation
- 7. Public Comment
- 8. Closing remarks
  - Senator Mark Obenshain, Chair of the Committee
- 9. Adjourn

Meeting of the I-81 Advisory Committee July 14, 2025 Page Two

## **MEMBERS OF THE I-81 ADVISORY COMMITTEE**

## Voting

Delegate Bill Wiley, District 32 Delegate Terry Austin, District 37 Delegate Sam Rasoul, District 38 Delegate Jason Ballard, District 42

Chair Frank Friedman, Central Shenandoah PDC Chair Phil North, Roanoke Valley/Alleghany PDC Chair Hil Johnson, New River Valley PDC Chair Dennis Morris, Northern Shenandoah PDC Chair Steven Goble, Jr., Mount Rogers PDC

Ray Smoot, Jr., Salem District CTB Member Tom Fowlkes, Bristol District CTB Member John P. Good Jr., Staunton District CTB Member

## **Ex Officio**

Stephen Brich, Commissioner of Highways, VDOT Tiffany Robinson, Director, DRPT

Senator David Sutterlein, District 4 Senator Mark Obenshain, District 2 Senator T. Travis Hackworth, District 5